Hmph. I really did not think I would end up commuting to college when I was in high school. I always thought I’d have the “traditional” college experience sharing a dorm with a messy roommate, complaining to the RA about the bathrooms, weekend parties, and most of all, definitely not living at home. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate a homecooked meal and the fact that I don’t have to pay rent, but it’s really hard to make a connection with the campus if you don’t live on it.

Marymount has a humongous commuter population, about 2/3 I think. This means that most students solely come to school and go. This does not mean to say that there is not “life” on campus, because I’ve definitely dabbled myself in enough activities to prove so. Part of the reason why I ran for Student Government in the the first place was to get involved with the students to hear what they had to say to improve life and academics on campus. So far everything is running smoothly, but things would be a bit more convenient if I had a dorm.

I actually had the option to live on campus when I was filling in my deposit, but opted out. I commuted from Maryland to Virginia when I was in high school (which is literally down the street from here) and so I figured I might as well save some money since it was so close. People always think it’s stupid to make such an arduous commute, and they also fail to realize that I do it for a quality education. Sacrificing time, gas, and money to get a degree is something I’m willing to give up so I can get a degree that tells me I’m eligible to work *rolls eyes*.

Anyways, in addition to having a similar commute from high school, I chose to commute because when I work I’ll be commuting anyways, even for great distances such as the one I did from Maryland to Virginia. My parents have been making MD-VA commutes to their jobs ever since they arrived here in the Philippines, so it’s pretty much ingrained in my brain that my job can’t be 10-15 minutes away from my house like most of my classmates who grew up in the Northern Virginia area.

There are, however, some perks to living off campus. One, I get to have  my car. Without it I would stuck at home doing nothing, or stuck at school waiting for my ride. If I want to go to lunch in Potomac Yards, all I’d have to do is drive instead of metro-ing to Crystal City and taking some bus for an hour, as opposed to the twenty minutes by car. In addition, commuting means I know the area pretty well, so I can go wherever I want. I have some out-of-state friends who stay on campus or go to Ballston, and that’s pretty much their knowledge of Arlington. They eat at the same restaurants and shop at the same mall because its familiar and limited by wherever the metro cuts through.

I guess you could say commuting to college is a double-edged sword. While I do wish I lived on campus, commuting isn’t as bad as everyone says. And not everyone stays on campus or goes to Ballston only; the metro does go out to D.C. and some kids already know how to utilize the bus system (something I still don’t know despite me living here for my entire life). Anyways, its almost 9 so I have to commute for my class at noon COOL SO I LEAVE YOU WITH THIS:

