This semester flew by. It’s so weird; it started and ended in a blink of an eye. I cannot believe my first semester of college is almost over. I have some great classes and learned a lot from phenomenal professors. Here’s a rundown of what I’m taking so far:

  1. Principles of Sociology: Sociology is so broad and there is so much to learn. I’m sad because I only have one more class before it ends. It honestly has become one of my favorite classes because it’s the most thought-provoking. Professor Minich’s stories will leave you on the edge of your seat and really inspires you to learn for the sake of learning. She’s very interactive, which is what sociology is all about: interaction.
  2. History of the United States to 1877: I took history because I thought if I knew the history of the United States, then majoring in politics would be easier. However I soon realized absolutely do not want to do politics, and that I’m genuinely interested in history. Professor Richmond’s class is very writing-intensive, which is what I like about it. After this course, there’s a subsequent one titled “History of the United States from 1877,” which I’m [hopefully] taking next semester because now I actually like history!
  3. English Composition I: I’m not sure, but I think all of the 101 courses have a theme. For example, mine is injustice, and all of my papers and lessons have been centered around inequity and intolerance. Anyways, Professor Guss is an energetic scholar that inspired me to love writing. She’s great!
  4. Statistical Analysis: I love stats. So much. Professor Minnich (yes it’s the same name as my sociology professor, but no relation/he has two “N’s”) is very passionate about the subject and that makes things so much easier. Stats is a weird math and I can actually see myself applying it to “real” life, unlike Calculus (yuck). It also helps that my friends are in this class, so it’s never dull.
  5. Discover 101: Every single freshman has to take a specific Discover course to introduce students into the college scene. Every course has a specific theme, and mine is leadership. Peer mentors are assigned to each course as well, and they’re there to help you get accustomed to the school and D.C. We’ve done leadership activities and learned other leadership styles. I’m glad I chose leadership because Professor Aichele and my peer mentor, Ferah, have made college easier because the course is very interactive and I’ve learned different perspectives of other students.
  6. The Business Experience: The Dean and Associate Dean of the Business school touches all of the aspects of business here at Marymount. Every student in the Business school is required to take it and it introduces subjects like marketing, economics, , accounting, finance, and general business-all majors that the school offers, plus more. Our first lesson was on critical thinking which I think is the most important lesson I’ve ever learned in that class because it applies to all of my courses, not just within the Business school. Critical thinking is a crucial skill that breaks barriers and encourages innovation and is pivotal to business, and definitely in writing and leadership.

Now to the fun stuff! Tonight is the official Kenya Project sale followed by the International Thanksgiving Dinner! More pictures later!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

